About CWC
Calendar of Events
Contact CWC

Want to make a payment?
Click the button below.

 Anthony Abbott Undergraduate Poetry Competition 

Congratulations to the winners of the 2014 Anthony Abbott Poetry Competition:

“and because I have a father,”  Jalynn Harris, UNC-Chapel Hill

Louise Rockwell Honorable Mention:
“Eight Ball,”  Elizabeth Purvis, Elon         

Honorable Mentions:
“A Son’s Lament,” Victoria Flanagan, UNC-Wilmington
“Awful Day Party,” Annalee Kwochka,  Davidson           
“Gunshot Wounds,” Katie Gomulkiewicz, Davidson    
“Kationary,” Karen Bourne, UNC-Chapel Hill   
“Lou,” Mallory Hawkins UNC-Chapel Hill

Our 2014 judge for the Anthony Abbott Poetry Competition was Catherine Carter.

Born on the eastern shore of Maryland and raised there by wolves and vultures, Catherine Carter now lives with her husband in Cullowhee, near Western Carolina University, where she teaches in and coordinates the English education program. Her latest book (LSU, 2012) is The Swamp Monster at Home; her first full-length collection, The Memory of Gills (LSU, 2006) received the 2007 Roanoke-Chowan Award from the North Carolina Literary and Historical Association.  Her poem “Toast” won the 2009 North Carolina Writer’s Network Randall Jarrell award, and her poem “Woolly Adelgid” won the poetry award for Still: The Journal in Fall 2013.  Her work has also appeared in Best American Poetry 2009, Orion, Poetry, North Carolina Literary Review, and Ploughshares, among others. 

Anthony S. Abbott is past President of the Charlotte Writers’ Club and the North Carolina Writers Network, and a past Chairman of the North Carolina Writers Conference. Click here for his full bio.

Louise Rockwell was a long-time Charlotte Writers' Club member, who passed away Friday, February 4, 2011. Click here to read more.

Anthony Abbott Undergraduate Poetry Competition Past Winners


  • Contest is CLOSED.
  • Deadline: February 15, 2014.
  • This contest is open to North Carolina full-time or part-time undergraduate students only.
  • There is no entry fee.
  • Entries require an instructor's email stating that the poet is an undergraduate student.
  • Poetry: 40 lines maximum.
  • We accept email submissions only.
  • Forty lines maximum. No haiku. One entry per person.
  • Entries must be original and unpublished. Poems must be single-spaced.
  • Entries must include: title, author’s name, address, phone, college or university, and instructor's email.
  • Otherwise, please follow guidelines in General Manuscript Requirements, Eligibility & Submission Information.
  • For inquiries or questions, contact contests@charlottewritersclub.org.
  • First Prize: $150
  • Louise Rockwell Honorable Mention: A single award of $100 for a poem, any form, any style, which addresses deep truths found in everyday moments.
  • Five runners up: $50 each

Charlotte Writers' Club
Charlotte Writers' Club

P.O. Box 220954
Charlotte, NC 28222
If you have a question or concern about this website, please contact the Webmaster.
2006-2014 © All rights reserved.

Scrolling News Ticker by Mioplanet